Monday, March 23, 2015

2015 MTAP Challenge - Full List of Finalists, and Winners from 34 Schools in PH

Posted by   on
Manila, Philippines - Joined by half-million math students and 34 schools from the different archipelago of the country, the 2015 Metrobank-MTAP-DepEd Math Challenge (MMC) competition was successfully launched since January 2015.

The MTAP is an open to all  competition for elementary and secondary public and private school students nationwide. Its purpose to awaken greater interest in math among elementary and high school students from across the country and to discover Mathematical talents among the youth.

To maximize the use of social media, MTAP used Facebook to gain more engagement from social media users.For  the first time, Math questionnaires were posted and shared real-time online via the Facebook page which maximize social media users engagement while the competition is ongoing. Tablet computers were used by the national finalists in giving their answers says, GMA News report.

The awarding ceremony  was held at the Metrobank Plaza Auditorium in Makati City on March 14, 2015.Below is the breakdown of finalist and winners courtesy of GMA News:

This year’s national finalists come from 34 schools composed of 18 public and 16 private schools. Out of the 34 schools, 19 are first-time national qualifiers:

- Baguio City SPED Center (Baguio City);
- Don Ramon E. Costales Memorial National High School (Pangasinan);
- Philippine Yui Chiau School (Cabatuan, Isabela);
- Nueva Ecija High School (Cabanatuan City);
- Cavite National Science High School (Maragondon, Cavite);
- San Beda College-Rizal (Taytay, Rizal);
- Statefields School, Inc. (Bacoor City);
- Gallanosa National High School (Irosin, Sorsogon);
- Sunshine International School (Daraga, Albay);
- University of St. La Salle-Integrated School (Bacolod City);
- Philippine Christian Gospel School (Cebu City);
- St. Mary’s School (Cagayan de Oro City);
- New Corella Central Central Elementary School (New Corella, Davao del Norte);
- Tagum City National High School (Tagum City);
- Jacinto P. Elpa National High School (Tandag City, Surigao del Sur);
- Batasan Hills National High School (Quezon City);
- Dalandanan National High School (Valenzuela City);
- Placido del Mundo Elementary School (Quezon City);
- Taguig Elementary School (Taguig City); and
- Valenzuela School of Mathematics and Science (Valenzuela City).

Winners of Individual Competition - GRADE 6:
- Steven Reyes of St. Jude Catholic School (City of Manila) - First Placer
- Angelo Vince Perez of De La Salle Lipa - Second Placer
- Aiman Andrei Kue of Zambo. Chong Hua High School (Zambo. City) - Second Placer

Winners of Team Competition - GRADE 6:
- Richmond Louie Lim and Bryce Ainsley Sanchez of Grace Grace Christian College (Quezon City) - First Placer
- Guillermo Andres Refina and Marcus Gene Ancheta of San Beda College-Riza- Second Placer

- Trisha Daphney Lim & Lance Xavier Castro of Philippine Christian Gospel School (Cebu City) - Third Placer

Winners of Individual Competition - 4TH YEAR:

-Ezekiel Christian Ong of Uno High School (City of Manila) - First Placer
- Highryll CJ Tan of Statefields School, Inc. (Bacoor City) - Second Placer
- Gene Go, Jr. of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School (Zamboanga City) - Third Placer

Winners of Team Competition - 4TH YEAR:
- Jan Reggie Dela Cruz and Jade Kathleen Yu of Valenzuela City School of Mathematics and Science- First Placer
- Sherlyn Calangian and Alberto Siton, Jr. of Batasan Hills National High School (Quezon City) - Second Placer
- Bert Joseph Prestoza and Paul Jeremiah Naraval of BHC Educational Institution, Inc. (San Fernando City, La Union) - Third Placer

National winners received trophies, medals, and cash prizes of P25,000 for the 1st placer, P20,000 for the 2nd placer, and P15,000 for the 3rd placer for the elementary level while P50,000 for the 1st placer, P40,000 for the 2nd placer and P30,000 for the 3rd placer for the fourth year level amounting to a total of P540,000 worth of cash prize. Half of the cash prize received by the winners has allowed them to open an account through the Metrobank Fun Savers Club, a special savings account designed for kids 17 years and below.

The annual math challenge produces national winners who get to compete and eventually win in international competitions. Among them are Carmela Lao and Adrian Reginald Sy, both 2011 MMC national winners who reaped a silver medal in the 51st and 55th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO), respectively.

Sources : GMA News | Rappler | MB Foundation
No comments:
Write comments
Recommended Post Slide Out For Blogger
Hey, follow us for more updates and subscribe to receive news directlty to your inbox!
Join Our Newsletter